Skip To Main Content

Color1 BG Container

District Nav

Landing Nav

Reporting and Priority Standards PreK-12

Academic Reporting and Priority Standards

Priority standards were identified from state, national, and international standards by core teams which included K – 12 grade teachers, instructional coaches, and principals. The process for identifying reporting and priority standards was consistent, comprehensive, and systemic. The criteria used to identify the most essential standards included:

  1. Endurance: Those standards that provide students with knowledge and skills beyond a single test date.
  2. Leverage: Those standards that provide knowledge and skills that will be of value in multiple disciplines (example non-fiction writing).
  3. Readiness: Those standards that provide knowledge and skills that are necessary for success in the next grade or level of instruction.

An accordion process was used for disseminating and obtaining feedback on reporting and priority standards. The standards were sent out for review and feedback. The Core Teams reviewed feedback, refined and made changes as appropriate. This process was conducted twice for each set of reporting and priority standards.

Reporting and Priority standards contained on this site are subject to slight modifications.

Reporting and Priority Standards Defined

Standards describe what scholars should know and be able to do. In Federal Way Public Schools, we organize our course or content standards by both reporting and priority standards. Please see the definitions below to better understand each type of standard and how they support Standards-Based Grading and Reporting.

Reporting Standards 

Reporting standards are broad groups of connected priority standards that communicate the knowledge and skills that scholars are expected to master. Reporting standards show a pattern of performance across a group of priority standards and indicate a scholar’s strengths and areas that need support. Families use reporting standards to understand what their scholar is learning and identify areas 
for growth.

Priority Standards

Priority standards describe what scholars should know and be able to do in a particular grade or course. They change from grade to grade. Priority standards are the essential state standards that ensure career and college readiness. Teachers use priority standards to develop curriculum, plan instruction, and gather evidence of learning through different kinds of assessments.


Chief Academic Officer
Executive Director - Scholar Learning, Academic Programs, and Staff Development

Career and Technical Education (CTE)

8th - 12th Grade: Fredolyn Armstrong

English Language Arts (ELA)

Pre K - 5th Grade: Alyssa Johnson
6th - 12th Grade: Tami Smith


K - 8th Grade: Lindsay Wood
9th – 12th Grade: Kimberly Tarnowieckyi


K - 12th Grade: Brittney Lindsay

Social Studies

6th - 12th Grade: Amanda Christensen 

World Languages

6th - 12 Grade: Becky Small and Ann Modarelli

Academic Reporting and Priority Standards